Maryland’s Law Enforcement Bill of Rights in Annapolis

The Maryland Fraternal Order of Police has been tirelessly working in Annapolis to preserve and protect Maryland’s Law Enforcement Bill of Rights. This year there have been several bills introduced by a few members of the General Assembly to either remove those rights or expose officers to enhanced penalties just because of his/her occupation as a police officer.

As a result of the hard work from officers across the state of Maryland who spoke to members of the House Judiciary Committee on March 12, 2015 the following Bills were withdrawn by the sponsor or received an “unfavorable report” (voted down) or by the members of the House Judiciary Committee on March 18, 2015.

HB112 Police-Involved Death – State Prosecutor
HB363 Law Enforcement Officer – Misconduct In Office
HB365 Felony Prosecution of Law Enforcement Officer – Attorney General
HB438 State Prosecutor – Use of Force by Law Enforcement Officer (withdrawn)
HB731 Disciplinary Actions – Written Policy
HB813 Law Enforcement Officer-Involved Deaths
HB728 Excessive Force or Misuse of Force by Law Enforcement Officer (withdrawn)
HB890 Liability Insurance – Required* (withdrawn)

There are still several bills that are yet to be voted upon. These bills will be voted on by the committee members this week. We are supplying you and your families with email addresses of the Delegates who sit on the House Judiciary committee who will be voting on these bills. If these bills pass through the legislature, they will have a far reaching negative effect on Law Enforcement across Maryland.

The State F.O.P. Legislative Committee asks that you and all of your friends and relatives reach out to the Delegates and tell them that you are against these bills that take away Police Officers rights or unfairly raise penalties for Police Officers.

You may use the below paragraph I have supplied if it is more convenient for you.
The e-mail addresses for the committee members are listed below.

My name is ____________ and am a current/retired law enforcement officer. I ask you, as a member of the House Judiciary Committee, to oppose all bills that would take away any rights of Police Officers under the Law Enforcement Officers Bill of Rights. We also would like you to oppose any bills that would raise any penalties on Police Officers in the State of Maryland.

Please stand with the Maryland State Fraternal Order of Police and law enforcement officers throughout Maryland!

Please vote to oppose these bills:
HB384, HB819, HB968.

Vallario, Joseph Delegate Joseph.Vallario@house.state.md.us;
Dumais, Kathleen Delegate Kathleen.Dumais@house.state.md.us;
Anderson, Curt Delegate Curt.Anderson@house.state.md.us;
Atterbeary, Vanessa Delegate Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us;
Campos, Will Delegate Will.Campos@house.state.md.us;
Carter, Jill Delegate Jill.Carter@house.state.md.us;
Conaway, Frank Delegate Frank.Conaway@house.state.md.us;
Glass, Glen Delegate Glen.Glass@house.state.md.us;
Kittleman, Trent Delegate Trent.Kittleman@house.state.md.us;
McComas, Susan Delegate Susan.McComas@house.state.md.us;
Moon, David Delegate David.Moon@house.state.md.us;
Morales, Marice Delegate Marice.Morales@house.state.md.us;
Parrott, Neil Delegate Neil.Parrott@house.state.md.us;
Rey, Deborah C. Delegate Deborah.Rey@house.state.md.us;
Rosenberg, Samuel Delegate Samuel.Rosenberg@house.state.md.us;
Smith, Will Delegate Will.Smith@house.state.md.us;
Sydnor, Charles Delegate Charles.Sydnor@house.state.md.us;
Valentino-Smith, Geraldine Delegate Geraldine.Valentino@house.state.md.us;
Wilson, Brett Delegate Brett.Wilson@house.state.md.us

Comments are closed.